PDA

View Full Version : ACK! Vomit! Help!

Chevette Girl
08-24-2010, 09:38 AM
My crabapple mel smells OK but I tasted it last night and there was a definite note of vomit (or bile) to it. Anyone got anything? I did read up on it but the threads I found were more for smell than taste and ultimately no solutions or partucular suggestions given... I think the only source of contamination might have been my husband's hand contacting the fruit bag when he was helping me pour the apples into it, but it was the overflow fermenter that exhibited it first, not the main bucket with the fruit bag. There's starting to be a bit of an off smell now, moreso in the overflow but now a little bit in the main bucket with the fruit bag but I did cross-contaminate them last night...

Oh, the overflow bucket is brand new, I've never used it before but I did wash it with the pink cleanser and sanitize it with sulphites...

http://www.gotmead.com/forum/showthread.php?t=16479 is the brewlog...

Should I be sulphiting the ever-lovin' heck out of this ASAP and re-pitching? I spent at least six hours on those damn apples and don't want to lose the time investment if I can help it...

skunkboy
08-24-2010, 12:48 PM
That can definitely be from an infection. Never tasted anything with that type of flavor except for a beer off flavor sensory testing.

Could be from :

Cheesy, Rancid, baby vomit, putrid : Formed by anaerobic spore-forming bacteria : Clostridium

akueck
08-24-2010, 01:49 PM
Hmm, I wonder which strain of Clostridium is supposed to be the culprit. Sounds like these bugs could be tetanus, botulism, or diarrhea. Not so good. On the other hand, I can't figure out where you'd get these things to put into your mead. The low pH and alcohol should kill them.

Does the husband work in a hospital?

gregoryc
08-24-2010, 08:49 PM