PDA

View Full Version : 2nd mead question

chiguire
08-28-2010, 06:40 PM
Hi, folks.

Well, I am a mead brewing beginner, but my JAO is running out (only one bottle left). It turned out great after it got some age under its belt.

Now I am left in a quandary of what mead-style to brew next.
I am brewing with 30+ year old honey from my grandfathers stock pile (he used to be a bee keeper)

I understand from reading Schramm's book that precious aroma and volatiles are lost in old honey...?
The honey is delicious, dark, and a bit wild. I really want to brew a medium show mead from this honey as kind of a "Heritage Mead"...

Am I crazy brewing a show mead from such old honey?

All input is welcome.

Medsen Fey
08-28-2010, 06:47 PM
Am I crazy brewing a show mead from such old honey?

Definitely... as a loon. Bonkers. Nuts. Out of your mind. :eek:

That stuff could be toxic. In fact, you should probably dispose of all that old honey. We have just such a disposal facility here at the Fusel Shack. I'll PM you the address and you can ship it here for environmentally safe handling. ;D

Medsen >:D

chiguire
08-28-2010, 07:58 PM
;D So after all that, let's clarify the question...

Have any of you noticed significant aroma/taste loss in old honey?

wildoates
08-29-2010, 12:55 AM
Definitely... as a loon. Bonkers. Nuts. Out of your mind. :eek:

That stuff could be toxic. In fact, you should probably dispose of all that old honey. We have just such a disposal facility here at the Fusel Shack. I'll PM you the address and you can ship it here for environmentally safe handling. ;D

Medsen >:D

Picking on the noobs again, eh, Medsen?!

I've never tasted honey that old, so I couldn't hazard a guess--30 years! Wow! But I think that with honey, if it tastes good, it is good, no matter if it might have been better 29.5 years ago.

AToE
08-29-2010, 01:52 AM