PDA

View Full Version : Do you archive your mead?

chiguire
09-23-2010, 01:03 PM
Hey, all.

How many of you keep a bottle or two of your brews for archiving purposes?
Do you set a bottle away from every batch of brew you make for a time in the very distant future?

I am fairly new to brewing but have thought it would be nice to have a bottle of brew from each of my batches that I will eventually be able to revisit and see the progression of quality, style preference, etc...

wayneb
09-23-2010, 01:08 PM
I try to with every batch... and with some of them, those bottles actually make it out to year 10 or so. But not many of 'em! ;)

icedmetal
09-23-2010, 03:38 PM
My wife and I try to keep a couple bottles of every batch for at least a few years...

...and sometimes, we even succeed!

Chevette Girl
09-23-2010, 09:04 PM
Funny how it works, the ones I really *should* keep end up getting drunk... but I do still have one bottle from my first JAO and I'm going to try to keep that one ten years. I need to go through ALL my stored wines and rearrange them according to date, and while I'm at it, starting an archive rack in one of the less convenient shelves isn't a bad idea...

chiguire
09-23-2010, 10:00 PM
Funny how it works, the ones I really *should* keep end up getting drunk...

Ha! I can see how that would happen. I think I am going to try to keep 1 of every brew for maybe 5 years, but past that I may run into a storage issue.

Thanks for all the input.

Has anyone's "favorite" mead been one that has aged 5+ years?

Tannin Boy
09-24-2010, 06:24 AM
Ha! I can see how that would happen. I think I am going to try to keep 1 of every brew for maybe 5 years, but past that I may run into a storage issue.

Not yet at least! I haven't been brewing that long ;D
But that is the plan, I would like to revisit them annually for at least 2-4 years?
That is if I make enough of each batch, and I can keep my hands off of them..

Cheers

Chevette Girl
09-24-2010, 07:47 PM