PDA

View Full Version : newbie

zackterry
11-29-2010, 05:01 PM
Hi there ! I'm new to the mead making scene, and I thought I'd introduce myself. I've brewed my own beer and ciders in the past, and I'm stepping up to the challenge of mead making. Since I'm new to this, any and all advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

-zackterry

AToE
11-29-2010, 05:05 PM
Welcome to what is probably the single most authoritative resource for mead making in the English speaking world!

I'd recomend reading through the newbee guide (in the lefthand menu of this site). A lot of the info will be redundant for you, but some of the differences between meadmaking and brewing are extreme enough that you'll want a good working knowledge before starting your first batch.

Chevette Girl
11-29-2010, 05:07 PM
Welcome aboard, zackterry!

I guess I'll say it before the mentors do, have a thorough read of the Newbee Guide. There's a lot of good info there and if you're already into beer and cider there shouldn't be too much to confuse you there.

Get to know the search tool on this page, this wonderful group of folks have tried fermenting just about anything, it's always good to review other people's experiences before you start making something with a particular ingredient.

And if you can't find it, ask!!

If you like sweet drinks, I highly suggest trying a JAO, it'll at least be done fast enough to keep you away from any traditional meads or melomels you want to age but can't keep your hands off of :)

Golddiggie
11-29-2010, 05:36 PM
Welcome to Mead Making Mecca!!!

I would add, on top of what's already been said, that if someone here hasn't made/brewed/fermented it yet, someone's thinking about it... :eek:;D

Medsen Fey
11-29-2010, 07:15 PM
Welcome Zackterry!

Since no one has mentioned it, do check out the NewBee Guide. :rolleyes:

wildoates
11-29-2010, 09:22 PM