PDA

View Full Version : Vanilla Beans??

Golddiggie
12-03-2010, 04:03 AM
So, I ordered, and now have, 7 'premium' Madagascar-Bourbon vanilla beans... I plan to use some in my Mocha Madness mead, but I'm wondering what else I could use them in... Has anyone tried to add them to a cream ale (so a vanilla cream ale)?? Or any other concoction that made you step back (in a good way)?? I know that you can get vanilla characteristics from aging over/with oak, but what do you get from the real thing?

darthbooger
12-03-2010, 08:41 AM
My very first batch i made a cinnamon vanilla dessert mead, it is VERY smooth, and delicious, from what I hear, vanilla helps bring out the other flavors in your mead, im still very new to all of this, but your "mocha madness" recipe, I am actually going to do a three gallon batch of, and I already had some vanilla beans I planned to use, I usually use about one pod per gallon, im going to have more in the way of coa oa nibs, but nonetheless, I have had good experiences with using vanilla thus far, I also put two vanilla beans split open face in some vodka for a few months and had my own vanilla extract...

akueck
12-03-2010, 10:40 AM
There are many recipes that include vanilla; I've used it in at least 2 meads. Try the search tool, limit yourself to the brewlog and recipe sections and you should find lots of folks using vanilla beans.

Golddiggie
12-03-2010, 11:26 AM
darthbooger, How much cacao nibs are you planning to use? Ground or whole? I was thinking of using just 1/2 of a pod in my madness, at least at first, so that I wouldn't need to rack off of it in a rush. I'd rather add more to it then try to catch it at the perfect moment (not always easy to do)... I am thinking about soaking either some oak cubes, or maybe some of the other wood I'll be using in another batch of mead, in some bourbon to get a little something extra...