PDA

View Full Version : Small Fermentation Question

Felipe Montealegre
12-07-2010, 02:59 AM
Hey guys... i'm a complete newbee on this mead making bussines (altought i have read and double read the "newbee guide to making mead".

So i finally decided to start this as an experiment. I'm using very small quiantities of ingredients and I set up 3 glass containers (beer bottles 350ml each). To find what combination of ingredients will be the one responsible for the better taste/sweetness and higer AVB.

1st: 100g processed honey, 200ml tap water, 1/3 teaspoon of yeast ( the first bread yeast i found (not fleissmann)

2nd: same as first, exept that i used 150g of processed honey

3rd: Same as first, exept i used 200g of processed honey

I've seen a lot of forums and stuff that say that i can know when the fermentation process has begun or stopped by seeing some foam.

Problem: after 3 days there is no foam at all but if i shake it a bit...there will be some pressure. and i poured a bit on a glass and there were little bubbles like with soda.

Is there any different way to know when did the fermentation process started and ended?

and when should i transfer the product to the second fermenter?is the yeast still alive( i mean, has not been done the fermentation process?when should i become aware of not letting the must get in contact with oxigen? this might be a dumb question but i'm confused because i saw on the basic recipe that there is no need to use a secondary fermenter. It says: when major foaming stops just pour some water and keep hand off it until 2 months and some contradictory stuff on other posts.

Thanks for helping this newbee- i apreciate that ;)

kudapucat
12-07-2010, 05:08 AM
<snip>
1st: 100g processed honey, 200ml tap water, 1/3 teaspoon of yeast ( the first bread yeast i found (not fleissmann)
<snip>
I've seen a lot of forums and stuff that say that i can know when the fermentation process has begun or stopped by seeing some foam.