PDA

View Full Version : How much Yeast for a 1 gallon batch

Gavin
12-20-2010, 11:05 AM
Hello all,

I am brand new at mead making and i have just started my first ever batch, I have a quick question though, something that I could not find, or got mixed results from when reading various websites.

I am making a 1 gallon batch with Lalvin D 47, but how much of the 5g pack should i have used? I have seen videos on you tube where people are putting a full 5g in, but I have read on websites to only use 1/5 of the packet (1g)

So i decided to split the difference and use about 2.5g.

Is this going to have an adverse affect on the batch? Is the amount of yeast a personal preference?

Thanks in advance :)

Gavin

Medsen Fey
12-20-2010, 11:18 AM
Welcome to GotMead Gavin!

Although most folks around here will probably use the whole packet (5 grams), since they only cost about $1, it is more yeast than is required. 1 gram would be adequate; using 2.5 grams will be fine. Just make sure to aerate the must (gently so it doesn't erupt) to allow the yeast to grow to their maximum potential.

Since you've received some conflicting advice, feel free to post up the details of your recipe and we can help to make sure you are starting with a good plan. Also, be sure and check the NewBee guide (linked in the column to the left) as it is full of good information.

Golddiggie
12-20-2010, 12:58 PM
I think most people would pitch the entire packet in (myself included) unless they had an immediate use (or really, really soon) for the balance of the yeast packet.

I think it makes more sense to use an entire packet of dry yeast than to have a half packet in the fridge for who knows how long. Unless you plan to boil it up for yeast food.

I pitched an entire packet of EC-1118 in my 1 gallon PoR mead. I don't think it will do any harm to pitch more yeast into a smaller batch size. You could run into difficulty if you pitch too little yeast into a batch size though.

YogiBearMead726