PDA

View Full Version : how much is too much?

hiram_abiff
12-22-2010, 01:32 AM
Hello. I am new to gotmead, and I am new to meadmaking as well. I have made a few batches of wine before though so I am familiar with the processes. I am about to make my first batch of mead and my question is this: How much honey is too much honey? I know that it is up to personal tastes but i was hoping to get a little guidance. I have 2 gallons(24lb) of local honey and i was planning on using all of it in a 6 gallon batch. would thls be over kill. I like sweet wine, but not 'take a sip and vomit' sweet. to give an idea of how sweet i would like it i will say that i like Drambuie (honey/spice scotch) and that sweet jewish wine they sell at safeway and walmart (manschewitz?-i think) thanks in advance for the input, i will appreciate the advice.

socrates6
12-22-2010, 01:59 AM
Me being new also, having come from the beer side of brewing. I have found the Mead Calculator (http://www.gotmead.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=745&Itemid=16) very helpful in determining the potential alcohol.

akueck
12-22-2010, 02:12 AM
Usually you'll see mead in the range of 2.5-3.5 lbs of honey per gallon of must. Notable exceptions include the Polish-style meads, but I would not recommend starting there.

Joe's Ancient Orange & Spice Mead is usually sweet and a very stable beginner's recipe. You'll find the recipe and about a thousand comments on it both here on the forum and on the main site.

Welcome to GotMead!!

kudapucat
12-22-2010, 03:13 AM
I second that, try making a JAO.
For educational purposes, measure your OG and FG so you'll have an idea about future batches.

If you want to try something else, use the ABV calculator in conjunction with your yeast's ABV tolerance, adn make sure it ferments out dry. Then back sweeten.