PDA

View Full Version : How do I improve?

Johanneskai
01-02-2011, 02:45 PM
Ok my dear mead making friends, I have been brewing ales for 12 years and mead for 2 years now. I would like to improve but really do not know where to begin on improving.
I have read and reread the newBee guide. I have read through the Schramm book reference in the NewBee guide.
I have also read through many recipes and discussions on these boards.
So, What do I need to do to improve and how do I measure this improvement?
How do I know that my mead making and brewing are improving?
Any help or directions are well appreciated.

AToE
01-02-2011, 02:57 PM
Well as for whether you know if you're improving, if your meads are tasting better and smelling better over time then I'd guess that's about it! You could also start sending submissions in to the Mazer Cup every year, even if you don't win anything I think the feedback sheets are more than worth the cost of entering.

I'm at this point too where I'm basically done with whacky experiments for now and am trying to simply refine and improve general ideas that I know have potential.

It's hard to say what needs improvement in your (or mine) process/recipes without looking them over, far too many variables. I've only been doing mead for about a year and a half though, even less time than you.

Personally I'm working on gaining beter control of nutrient dosing with high-needs yeasts, trying to get temperature control under control, and just tweaking recipes one or two variables at a time. Also, I do a lot of side by side test batches (like 9 different yeasts in identical musts) to capitalize on how much I can learn from each batch.

Johanneskai
01-02-2011, 03:13 PM
AToE, thanks for your advice. I think I need to choose one variable and do some side by sides, as you mentioned.
I have to admit that I really am lacking in the theory of sugar conversions, alcohol and yeast strains.