PDA

View Full Version : Stuck Fermentation

rdm
01-23-2011, 06:25 PM
I am new to mead making and am in the middle of making my first batch of mead. I expected the fermentation process to take between 2-3 weeks. It's been over two months since I brewed my batch and it appears to only be about half done.

My initial fermentation was quit active. However, it's been over 2 months since I started the fermentation and it has slowed down dramatically. I have kept a log of my observations and activities up this point. What do I need to do to get the fermentation started again? Any help I can get would be greatly appreciated.

Recipe:

Medium Show Mead
13.5 lbs Orange Blossom Honey
4 gallons water
2 tsp. yeast energizer
2 tsp. yeast nutrient
1 liter starter of Lalvin D-47 yeast
OG 1.09
Target FG 1.01
pH 4.6

Log:

11/20/10 - Brew date

11/21/10 - Fermentation activity begins.

11/22/10 - Airlock burps every 4-5 seconds.

12/12/10 - Fermentation has slowed dramatically from the initial fermentation. PH 3.7, SG 1.061, temp 65 F. I added 1 tsp calcium carbonate and gently stirred the carboy trying to minimize oxygenation.

01/08/11 - Fermentation is very slow, SG 1.053, racked the mead, added 2.5 tsp nutrient, PH 4.6, temp 68 F, 5.17% alcohol, inch of yeast discarded.

1/16/11 - 1 burp/30 sec, temp 73 F

01/23/11 - 1 burp/3 min. SG 1.047, 5.8% alcohol, 69 F. Added 2 tsp nutrient.

Oskaar
01-24-2011, 12:26 AM
I am new to mead making and am in the middle of making my first batch of mead. I expected the fermentation process to take between 2-3 weeks. It's been over two months since I brewed my batch and it appears to only be about half done.

My initial fermentation was quit active. However, it's been over 2 months since I started the fermentation and it has slowed down dramatically. I have kept a log of my observations and activities up this point. What do I need to do to get the fermentation started again? Any help I can get would be greatly appreciated.

Recipe: