PDA

View Full Version : Stirring the mead

Tiwas
01-30-2011, 07:34 PM
Hi guys,

First of all - who took that picture for the absinth ad? Ok, I admin I want to try it, but...moving the lense away from the naked lady?? :eek:

Anyway - I'm pretty new to this stuff. I've made a couple of batches before. One was really good, and the other was...well...awful doesn't really describe it :p Anyway, in a month's time I'll be ready to do another batch and I'm currently reading The Compleat Meadmaker to get all my basics covered. There are a couple of things in that book that goes against everything else I've read about brewing, so hopefully you can clear it up for me. :)

In particular, it is in the later part of the fermentation chapter Schramm suggests stirring different agents into the mead to reduce ph or add sweetness, but from what I've read that will aerate and spoil the mead - won't it? Or is this mainly a problem for lower alcohol drinks like beer? Honey is really expensive here in Norway, and I don't think I'll enjoy spoiling a $500 batch just because of bad advice or any misconceptions I might have.

Thanks!

Lars

TDMooney
01-30-2011, 07:52 PM
welcome to gotmead? !

lightly stirring the mead to add different additives wont necisarily incorporate enough oxygen to oxidize your mead, just make sure to be gentle

mmclean
01-30-2011, 07:57 PM
Hi there Tiwas,

Welcome to "GOTMEAD?"

Well you stopped it to the right place. The Mead Mentors here are the best.

Yeah, some of the things in Kens book are dated, but others are still ahead of the regular brew pack. If you ever doubt something your about to do, just post up a question and someone will be along shortly with some good advice. Your meads are safe.

With meads, it is a good idea to aerate once or twice a day untill the 1/3 sugar break. After that a gentle stirring once a day is good until ferment is done.