PDA

View Full Version : Looking to start 2nd batch - how to get rid of "bite"?

PJH
02-23-2011, 09:25 PM
So in the summer I made my first batch of mead (actually, my first time brewing anything). My recipe was:

7 kg clover honey
Yeast nutrient (to the amount recommended on the packet - don't remember exactly)
1 tsp vanilla extract (added at time of bottling)
Lalvin EC-1118 yeast

Pasteurized diluted honey to 95C for a few minutes
Put straight into a 5 gal carboy and added water to 5 gal.
Re hydrated yeast and pitched into carboy.

OG was 1.096 @ 35C Aug 9 2010
at 1 week 1.080 @ 30C (it was summer and was hot for a few weeks)
4 weeks 1.024 @ 21C
7 weeks racked off lees to new carboy and topped up with ~1L of water to make up lost volume. SG 1.008 after dilution.

At 3 months, SG 1.000, added 1/2 cup of priming honey and the vanilla extract. Bottled. I've been sampling it for the last 2 months or so.

The mead turned out OK for a first try, but I'd like to improve it. Nice and alcoholic, clear, and bubbly, similar to champagne. The biggest issue with it is that it has quite a "bite" to it. It has a bitter flavour that I don't know where it came from. I know it is still a bit young, and it has aged out a bit, but I'm skeptical it will go away completely. I've tried some other young meads which didn't have this flavour at all.

My next batch I'd like to make a bit sweeter and lighter, more of a summer cider-like drink. And I want to get rid of the bitter flavor.

What can I improve? Some thoughts so far:
*I was confused about the aeration. I was under the impression that oxygen was bad during the entire fermentation, so I never stirred it and kept the headspace low the entire time. Could this have led to stressed yeast and added bad flavour?