PDA

View Full Version : Apple Cyser Question

OrionMead
03-27-2011, 11:59 PM
Greetings!

I started brewing about three weeks ago. I started an orange/raisin mead (2 gallon batch at start, only had about 1.5 gallons when I racked it due to all of the sediment on the bottom and my fear of getting that into the secondary). We tasted it, and it was "alright", except that I learned the lesson of not letting it sit on the counter for three weeks...has a funky smell to it (well, like "bad oranges"). I decided NOT to dump it out, and instead added some fresh oranges and some honey into the secondary after it was racked...hopefully that funky smell will go away.

And thus I've learned that everything shall go into the back of the pantry, covered by other stuff ;-)

My wife was asking if I would attempt to make an "apple tasting mead", so I said "Sure, I think it's called a Cyser, and well...we're already at the store!" and yanked up a giant bag of green "Granny Smith" apples (I find the taste to be better with those than other greens).

I have about 20 lbs of Clover honey sitting in the pantry (4x 5 lbs containers), and about 3 lbs of Orange Blossom honey. I was thinking of warming up the water/honey, chopping up the apples (or even just mashing them up into applesauce and pouring that in), and then adding the yeast and seeing how it went.

I'm just afraid of the apples "going bad".

For instance, if I mash the apples up, won't it just sit at the bottom with the lees and probably have it's apple-taste counteracted with yeast husk flavored apple? :eek: If I just slice the apples up into 1/8ths, over time won't they basically turn INTO apple sauce, being so soaked with water in a cool place?

I would use Apple Cider or Apple Juice with it...but I've already got the apples, so I wanted to just go ahead with it. Planning the same things with strawberries tonight, also!

Any suggestions on the cyser?

akueck
03-28-2011, 12:23 AM
Hi Orion and Welcome to GotMead!