PDA

View Full Version : Secondary Ferment or lack of

Joshua W
03-28-2011, 02:06 PM
Hello,

Just wondering about the likely hood of fermentation starting back up after first racking. (Details below)

23Liters or Aprox 5 gallons?
Recipe:
~16 lbs Honey
12 Lbs strawberries (greens removed, chopped)
Champagne yeast (forgive me, I have misplaced the package and cannot specify the exact yeast.
4 cups orange juice
2 vanilla beans halved and split (seeds not scraped)
1/2 teaspoon wine tannin
pectic enzyme
2 teaspoon acid blend
1 tbs yeast nutrient
5 Campden tab's

Boiled the honey and water - removed scum,
filled primary container with addition of strawberries and orange juice for acidity + Macro/Micro Nutrients for the yeasties

Added:
campden tablets to kill off any wild yeast
yeast nutrient
vanilla beans
wine tannin
teaspoon acid blend
added 2 teaspoons pectic enzyme to aid in the breakdown of the fruit.

Before I continue, I am new at this and would love further direction as to the amounts of the above typically added in a similar situation, as I was working with what little I know about this process.

Continuing;

The next day I prepared the yeast according to package, pitched it, and waited.

within a few hours the fermentation was bubbling, a few days and it was apparent that the yeast was very happy :)

Maybe too happy I suppose as two weeks later the fermentation had nearly stopped, 2 bubbles out of the airlock every 45 seconds or so.

At this point there was about 2.5 inches if sediment at the bottom, (much of this was berry remains I imagine)

Of course it was after this two weeks that I read about putting fruit in a mesh sack, so not much I could do about this at that point.

Anyways, Racked this into a 23L glass carboy, after the loss of the fruit and sediment I was sitting fairly low in the carboy, so I topped up with 10 lbs worth of juiced strawberries and a bit of honey water to top up to a more comfortable level.