PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone used alkaline ionized water?

Ryguy16
03-29-2011, 11:29 AM
I'm new to meadmaking and i'm going to make my first batch right away but was wondering if anyone has had any experience using high alkaline water? I recently bought a water ionizer and can set the ph of the water i'm going to use and i'm wondering which pH would be best?

wayneb
03-29-2011, 11:33 AM
I don't generally balance the pH of my musts in so high tech a fashion ;) but in general you should use water that results in a mixed must pH of around 3.4 to 4.0. Much lower than that, and your yeast may be stressed during the course of fermentation (although that also depends somewhat on the strain of yeast used), and much higher than that range allows undesirable spoilage organisms to develop. Welcome to Gotmead, BTW!!

Ryguy16
03-29-2011, 01:00 PM
Thanks Wayne!! I'm thinking i'm gonna be a pioneer and try the pH of about 8.0 as that's the lowest setting on my machine. This water tastes great! Far superior to tap water, RO systems and IMHO, most bottled water. Tea and coffee taste way better! Ionized water has most contaminants removed and contains way more oxygen and minerals in it so i figure it'll kick the fermentation process into high gear? or it'll kick it so hard the bucket will fall over! I will soon find out.. lol!

wayneb
03-29-2011, 02:37 PM
Keep us informed! But you might have to adjust the acid balance after fermentation is over, because I'm not sure that a mead that high in pH will taste right - but who knows? You may be on to something! ;D

AToE
03-29-2011, 02:40 PM
Does it ionize by adding ions of various minerals? Or am I missing something... I don't understand why it would have a higher mineral content after being ionized.

Medsen Fey
03-29-2011, 03:13 PM