PDA

View Full Version : Fermentation tempreture

Meadaroo
04-12-2011, 03:36 PM
Hey guys,

I'm really new at making mead but am absolutely fascinated by it as a hobby. It has become an obsession since I started. I would like to know if if fermentation temperature makes a difference to the actual outcome of the mead. Should I cold ferment or heat it up a little. The yeast I'm using is VIN 13 -Saccharomyces cerevisiae it's used for making a fresh & fruity wine. Any ideas??

Also, if I have botched it up as far as temperature is concerned, will aging the mead make a difference??

wayneb
04-12-2011, 04:24 PM
Hello, Mr. Bee-Pee! Welcome to Gotmead!!!

Yes, temperature does make a difference. I'm not familiar with your yeast strain (which manufacturer makes that one?), but in general all yeasts will produce more phenolics and more fusels (higher order alcohols) when subjected to warmer fermentation conditions. In general, keeping any mead ferment in the lower half of the manufacturer's suggested temperature range results in a mead that is smoother tasting and ready to drink far quicker than if fermentation is conducted warm. However, all is not lost if you happened to have done a hot ferment. Most of those fusels and phenolics will eventually break down in to simpler, and pleasanter tasting, compounds with a little age. However, you will learn patience while waiting for one of those meads to mellow. It can take a year or more.... :o

mmclean
04-12-2011, 04:26 PM
Hi Mr Bee-Pee,

Welcome to GOTMEAD?

All yeast have their own temp range. This is the range where they will be active. The cooler end of the temp range is often less stressful on the yeast, yielding a smoother product with less harsh or off flavors. Most harshness or "hot" alcohol taste form at or above mid 70s F. This harshness will fad over time, but may take one or two years.

+ what Wayne said.

Medsen Fey
04-12-2011, 04:53 PM