PDA

View Full Version : honey in Croatia

MattHollingsworth
05-12-2011, 10:51 AM
Hello everyone. First post here. I've been homebrewing beer for 14 years and am going to make some mead soon. Already read Schramm's book and a ton of info online, here and at homebrewtalk.com and elsewhere. So, I think I have a decent grasp of the process.

Anyway, looking at locally available honey, I don't see all of it listed here or elsewhere, so wanted to ask what people think. I will likely start off with a few traditional dry meads to try out some honeys and will backsweeten if they end up too dry.

First one will likely use acacia honey. Acacia honey here is very nice and it will be very fresh from the apiary in a couple of weeks. I see the description here as resembling dried pineapple.

Then in the summer, I'll be able to get some fresh linden honey. Linden's huge here and I love that honey. Seems it'd make a lovely mead.

Another honey that's very common here is chestnut honey. I don't eat much of that. I don't see any information online about chestnut honey. Any word on using it for mead?

And, lastly for the moment anyway, a local producer will have honeydew honey sometime later this year. In Schramm's book he says it's inferior to real honey. What's the word? The process sounds interesting. Any good for mead?

Anyway, if anyone has direct experience with these honeys, any info would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

TheAlchemist
05-12-2011, 11:20 AM
Welcome to Got Mead, Matt!

Linden blossom! Dreamy! Literally. Linden blossom dried and used as a tisan is a mild sedative.

Medsen Fey
05-12-2011, 11:20 AM
Welcome to GotMead MattHollingsworth!

If you search for "chestnut honey" using the quotation marks in the search tool, it will bring you several threads including a couple in the Patron's area. It is one of Oskaar's favorite honey varieties.

MattHollingsworth
05-12-2011, 11:29 AM
Welcome to Got Mead, Matt!