View Full Version : Ancient orange pithy problem

05-17-2011, 04:29 AM
Hey Guys,

"Gotmead.Com" is such a fantastic site - so much useful info on mead-making. I am a noob when it comes to mead & i stumbled across "Joe's fool proof ancient orange mead recipe.

I also read that some guys complain about the "pithy" taste from the orange & i was wondering if one can avoid this by cutting the orange pulp from the peal & using that instead of throwing everything in as per the recipe.

Will it still taste fine? Hve no idea wht Joe's ancient is suppossed to taste like but i don't wanna goof up the recipe either - he he

05-17-2011, 08:37 AM
Welcome to GotMead!! :) ;D

There won't be a problem with the pith if you follow the recipe to the letter. I just bottled my JAO after 5 weeks (I just waited until the fruit all sank) and there was no bitterness (in fact, it was quite sweet). None of the other people who tried it tasted anything bitter.

05-17-2011, 08:42 AM
Some people indeed make it with less pith, however very few people will make it with -no- pith.

If you let it age long enough the pithy taste goes away supposedly, I haven't let one go that long yet :P just 'cause my wife and I are impatient and want to drink it young I plan on making the next batch with about half the oranges peeled and the other half leave the peel on.

05-17-2011, 08:47 AM
The idea, would appear to be about balancing the taste. The recipe without it, is likely to be cloyingly sweet. The biggest error that can be made, is usually too heavy a use of the spices, especially the clove.

Sticking to the recipe, but depending one the containers you can get/have, it can be up to 5 litres total and still comes out good........usually.

05-17-2011, 09:54 AM
Oaking can help smooth out some of the pithyness while still young.

05-17-2011, 09:59 AM
Thx Guys -

This has been super helpfull :D

After all the advice I'd rather follow the recipe to the letter & nt worry about the pithyness :)

Chevette Girl