PDA

View Full Version : H20 question - what is the best option?

caffeine211
06-27-2011, 01:04 AM
Ok, so I've been searching on here to find some kind of definitive answer about what kind of water to use when making mead and can't seem to find the answer I'm looking for.

I am pretty new to mead making with only a few batches (still fermenting or aging) under my belt. Everything I have read has said to use tap water or spring water; I've used Poland Springs (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Poland_Springs) spring water in all of my mead so far, without incident. Being new to the craft, I figured there was a good reason for this and went along without asking any questions.

However, I come from over a decade of coffee brewing where water choice can make or break the coffee's flavor, aroma and body. Your end result is 99%-97% water; water choice makes a huge difference in coffee. I brew most coffee using Dasani (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dasani), which is filtered using reverse osmosis with some trace minerals added, in a french press. I enjoy Dasani by itself and when used to brew coffee I have found that it makes an excellent coffee compared to tap (:icon_puke_l:), spring or home filtered water.

My local tap water (suburban Philadelphia, PA) doesn't taste awful but I generally don't drink it. I use a 3 stage PUR filter for drinking water (at $20 for ~100 gal it is a pretty cost effective alternative to bottled water). My favorite drinking waters are Voss (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Voss_%28water%29), Acqua Panna (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Panna_%28water%29) and San Pellegrino (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/San_Pellegrino).