PDA

View Full Version : Shipping Mead by Air

HowardVic
07-07-2011, 07:28 PM
Greetings everybuddy.

It's been a few months since we last communicated. I'm the guy who's trying to set up a cottage industry, home meadery for the making of Passion Fruit mead. Thanks for the past feedback.

While I am still an amateur mead maker, I am going thru all the local state, municipal & federal paperwork to be able to sell my mead to the public.

Recently, I wanted to compete in a wine competion, mead category so I printed the online registration form and went to the local U.S. Post Office with an empty 750 ml bottle of wine to ask what was the correct way to package two bottles to send stateside (I am in Puerto Rico) to compete.

Can't be done they said. Sept. 11, Homeland Security, etc. So, I visited the local Fedex office. Can't be done unless you're a commercial entity with an account/contract with them. Contacted UPS. Same feedback.

Anyhoo, I decided that if I was going to go commercial in a year or so, why not ask for the details on how to open an account/contract with UPS. The rep said I had to register the business with the local authorities and complete a course on HAZMAT (hazardous materials). Ok, so I did some cyber searching and from what I read online, I gather it seems HAZMAT courses are more appropriate for the shippers who have to handle flammable liquids on their aircraft. All I should know is how to package the bottles. Styrofoam peanuts or bubble wrap, anyone? They offer HAZMAT courses online but it seems odd that I should have to pay $600 + - when I am not the one who handles the actual air transportation of the flammable liquid.

What, people no longer mail each other homemade wine, mead, etc., via air during the holidays anymore?

I intend to call the local ATF office in San Juan tomorrow to ask about this HAZMAT requirement by Fedex and UPS. Seems odd.