PDA

View Full Version : 14 pounds raw honey :)

B.J. Bell
07-13-2011, 11:27 PM
I would first like to give a big hello to everyone on the forum!! I am new to mead as I am to all home brewed beverages. I have done alot of research and I do not plan to boil my honey as it is very local and I've never had anything quite like it before. I live in Greenville South Carolina and this stuff tastes like a spoonful of my childhood. I Will spare no expense to
Make a good mead from this honey. I am very patient and it matters not to me if this is 2 year venture. I have some of the basic tools such as a primary plastic fermentor and a 5 gallon carboy. I also have airlocks plastic tubing plenty of bottles and alot of tenacity. Any basic recipes for an all natural mead using 14 pounds of honey, fruit for nutrients/acid and tea for tannins? Any input would be greatfully appreciated.

kudapucat
07-13-2011, 11:46 PM
If you want to show off the honey, make a 'traditional' (search for traditional, there's heaps of info)
A traditional is where you add only honey, water, yeast and nutrients.

If you want to add fruit, you can, but it will blend the flavour of your honey. If this is what you want, search for 'melomel' and the type fruit you want to use.

14 lbs of honey will make between 5 - 10 gal of mead, so it depends on your primary fermentation vessel size.
Just make the right amount for your vessel.

Buy a hydrometer.
Buy a thermometer, botha cooking one and one to tell you the temp of your fermentation vessel
Buy your Honey.
buy some nutrient (fermaid k and DAP will do)
Buy fruit if you want to use it, remove the stones (usually) and put it in the freezer - this helps the yeast eat it.
Buy your yeast.

Whilst you're doing all that buying, read the newbee guide (http://www.gotmead.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=blogcategory&id=108&Itemid=14) at least twice, it can be a bit simple, but it covers ALL points you'll need.