PDA

View Full Version : Honey from Comb Cappings

Mica
07-26-2011, 06:48 AM
I am a hobbyist beekeeper and long term homebrewer. I have comb cappings with sufficient honey in them to brew mead. This next batch will be the second.

With the first batch I followed Papazian's recipe after first melting the cappings in plenty of water, cooling and removing the slab of wax from the surface. This recipe called for boiling and skimming. 7 months on it is very palatable but little aroma, presumably lost during the boil method.

In Ken Schramm's Meadmaker (Compleat) he pushes the no-boil method though while honey has antibacterial properties - this isn't the nice clean honey that has settled. There are bee parts, some pollen etc.

Is it better to use capping honey with other ingredients rather than for pure mead and go with the boil method?

Is it acceptable to wash the cappings in cold water and filter through a jellybag and use without boiling?

What is the advice of the experts here?

Oh, nice site by the way.

fatbloke
07-26-2011, 09:42 AM
Google for Brother Adam and Buckfast Abbey. You'll see that all his meads were made from comb washings and cappings.

Of course, he's more known for bee breeding, but he was the Abbey mead maker until his death in the mid-90's.

AToE
07-26-2011, 03:37 PM
The capping honey is supposedly the very best stuff is what I've heard from many mead makers.

I think dissolving in warm water and then filtering through cheese cloth or something similar to get out the chunks is indeed probably the best way to go.

kudapucat
07-26-2011, 07:26 PM
Just rang my old man and asked him to save the cappings.
He leaves them overnight and strains the honey. Reckons he gets about half, and off 3 hives he wouldn't get a kg of honey, so not worth my time.
I asked him to save them nonetheless, and we will see just how much we can extract ;-)
Though God only knows when he'll next take a flow, he's been a bit busy, lately, and hasn't taken every flow he could have.