PDA

View Full Version : Fermented edibles

mccann51
08-18-2011, 03:12 PM
Since I started brewing last Oct, I've begun to take a strong interest in not just fermented (alcoholic) beverages, but fermented food and drinks in general.

Kimchi and kombucha are the only two I've dabbled in outside of mead and beer, though I'm hoping to delve deeper ("we have to go deeper") into fermented edibles. Right now, sourdough bread and the whey brew (either w kefir or yogurt, or both, my sour lactomel being the prototype) are on the immediate horizon for me.

I was hoping this thread could be something of a reference for fermented edibles in general. Searching for information online about fermented foods often brings up a huge amount of dissociated info. Being that we have such a varied, experimental, and passionate group of users here at Gotmead.com (whose fermented-adventures, I know from reading peoples' posts, does not stop at mead, beer, and wine), I figured if we all brought a little to the table, we could have a nice jump off point for a lot of different fermented edibles.

Here are the Wikipedia articles (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fermentation_%28food%29) on fermented foods (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Fermented_foods) and drinks (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Fermented_beverages), which I found a valuable resource in simply making me aware of the great variety of fermented traditions there are. As well, here is Akueck's kombucha thread (http://www.gotmead.com/forum/showthread.php?t=17984) and the Mad Fermentationist's kombucha blog post (http://www.themadfermentationist.com/2007/02/i-realize-that-many-people-have-never.html) (his blog in general has a lot of great info on fermented edibles), which I feel provide a very solid start for kombucha brewing.