PDA

View Full Version : How to add corn sugar into my mead?

Heathenlegions
10-12-2011, 08:04 PM
I have two three gallon carboys with insufficient honey (8% alcohol reading), want to boost it up to at least 9%. Bought 4lbs of corn sugar, each package is 1lb, to add more sugar content into my mead. How do I go about adding corn sugar to my mead?

Man at the brewer shop told me to just fill up enough clean water to submerge one to two pounds of the corn sugar in a pot, then do the same for the other two pounds...kinda forgot if he said to boil it or not? Or do I simply heat the water enough to mix together the corn sugar and water?

Yes, this is my first two batches, I am a beginner, currently refining my mead terminology and measuring so take it easy on me. Thanks

wayneb
10-12-2011, 11:01 PM
Welcome to "Gotmead,"Heathenlegions! Don't concern yourself about being a new meadmaker - we're a pretty friendly and generally helpful bunch, and most of us remember what it was like to try meadmaking for the first time. We're here to help! Let me first recommend that you read our Newbee Guide to Making Mead (there is a link to it on the left side of this page). Go through the entire thing, then perhaps re-read it, and see if many of your questions are already answered there. If not, then come on back to this thread and ask some more.