PDA

View Full Version : Bottled Too Early?

Bee Serious
11-15-2011, 05:08 PM
Hi everyone,

After a successful first year of beekeeping, I decided to try mead!

I used a recipe (a Rabbit's Foot Meadery clone) I found in an archaic issue of Brew Your Own my brewaholic neighbor loaned me from 2005. Can be found here:
http://www.byo.com/stories/recipeindex/article/recipes/107-mead/2034-rabbits-foot-meaderys-sweet-mead-clone

Recipe:
15 lbs. (6.8 kg) wildflower honey
5 tsp. yeast nutrient
5 tsp. DAP (diammonium phosphate)
5 tbsp. bentonite
2 pkg. Lalvin EC-1118 yeast

The directions were just vague enough for me to misunderestimate when I could/should bottle - especially since I am quite new to the whole thing. I bottled after a couple of months and one racking. I used bentonite like the recipe called for, but I wasn't very convinced it did what it was supposed to.

While researching online later, I found that one should only bottle after the mead COMPLETELY clears - like you should be able to read a newspaper through it. When I poured a glass, I could see through it, but while in the carboy it was cloudier than Keith Richard's pee. I'm pretty sure the hygrodromometer had stopped dropping.

So did I just screw it up completely? I know that mead will clear in the bottle, but can become easily agitated whenever you move it. Is it worthwhile to cold crash it and re-carboy from the bottles and let it clear? It already tastes pretty good - maybe I just leave it alone and hope for the best - I drink cloudy beer all the time.

Any advice/thoughts? Thanks!

Loadnabox
11-15-2011, 05:54 PM
The cloudiness won't hurt anything really. Just a matter of preference.

Most wine/mead snobs will say that it should be perfectly clear, and as you noticed just picking up the bottle stirs up the sediment.

If you like the way it is and don't plan on giving it away, go to town on it!