PDA

View Full Version : something on top of the mead



Zsnethen
12-04-2011, 10:04 PM
I'm on well water so I boiled my water and let it cool I had a perivous batch go vinagar beacuse I used tap water and didn't heat it this looks very simalar to what happened to that one it kinda has bubble sitting ontop I shake the carboy and it goes way but comes back in 8 hours or less. I will try to post a picture later

18lb wildflower honey
Yeast nutrient
71b yeast
Fermenting well

skunkboy
12-04-2011, 11:42 PM
Pictures would probably be helpful, but bubbles are somewhat normal. Is this a 5 gallon batch? How long has it been running?

Zsnethen
12-05-2011, 01:43 AM
http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/384971_101800439939570_100003288423564_5547_175273 5719_n.jpghttp://a1.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/379119_101800353272912_100003288423564_5545_871645 411_n.jpg

Sorry the pictures suck its dark out and yes it a 5 gallon batch it been going for about 2-3weeks currently at 1.109

Chevette Girl
12-05-2011, 02:53 AM
1.109 after two weeks? That's still pretty high if it's been active for two weeks unless it started REALLY high... What was its starting gravity? If it was around 1.130 like the mead calculator thinks, it's only got about 3% alcohol at the moment.

Or is it at 1.009? (if that's the case, we've all done it :rolleyes:)

skunkboy
12-05-2011, 09:34 PM
Those pictures look about par for the course of stuff on the top forming bubbles.

schlapppy
12-06-2011, 09:31 AM
I wouldn't worry about it, that looks like normal. If you can post pics are are more clear, we can give you a more definative answer. Also, double check your S.G.. did you misplace the zero?

Chevette Girl
12-06-2011, 01:12 PM
Huh. for some reason the photo won't show on Firefox, I actually had to open IE. Now I feel dirty.

Nonetheless, I agree, this looks like normal, although my batches usually get that over the whole surface, maybe that's why yours is moving so slowly. What temperature is it at?