PDA

View Full Version : Brewing up JOA

cabeasle
12-11-2011, 07:08 PM
Good evening, everyone.

This is my first post around here, and I am very new to the process of brewing anything at all.

Last week I tried my hand at a gallon batch of plain old water/honey/yeast mead, and I will likely be asking about that soon (once I have time to type up the recipe and whatnot as per the FAQ suggestion). But I am also planning on brewing up some of the Ancient Orange now that I've seen it, and I had a quick question. Am I supposed to sanitize the equipment I will use before brewing it? I realize that sounds like a silly question, but there are so many reminders to "follow the recipe exactly", and, well, he doesn't actually mention sanitation.

Just curious.

I hope to become a regular poster, soon :)

Riverat
12-11-2011, 08:20 PM
Oh yea, sanitizing is a given!

Chevette Girl
12-11-2011, 08:23 PM
Welcome to the addiction- er, hobby! ;D

Given that it's a quick-starting, vigorous fermentation that ends with enough sweetness to be pretty stable, you don't NEED to, a good wash with hot water and dish soap is sufficient. If you think about it, your orange can't really be sanitized, so as long as everything is as clean as your orange, good enough for JAO.

But if you have sanitizers on hand, it's not a dumb idea. I usually do swish my JAO jars out with my sanitizing solution.

And if you rack it before you bottle it, I would highly recommend sanitizing the new carboy and the racking equipment. Good sanitation is important all through the process, but it's MORE important when a mead or wine is no longer actively fermenting.

chams
12-11-2011, 08:24 PM
Yes. Sanitize everthying. Star san is a good product that has served me well.
Put it in a spray bottle and you can save lots of time.

cabeasle
12-11-2011, 09:10 PM