PDA

View Full Version : Is this considered slow primary fermentation?

Smoky Mountain Reign
01-26-2012, 03:03 PM
I'm working on a basic mead recipe and concerned that the starting fermentation rate is too slow. I have made several country wines before and blueberry mead but this is my first attempt making a starter yeast culture before pitching. Summary:

Day 0, mixed all ingredients in 7 gallon bucket except the yeast and covered the bucket with a clean cloth. Made a starter batch of yeast by mixing 1 cup of wort with 2 cups of spring water in a open, zip lock baggie. The baggie was warm to the touch, not hot, so I added the yeast. Baggie was brand new but I did not sanitize. Heavy foaming observed within 3 hours.

Day 1, 24 hours later pitched the starter yeast. OG = 1.092

Day 2, low to moderate foam on surface. Primary fermenter still covered by cloth only. No change in OG.
Day 3, low to moderate foam on surface, small bubbles rising visually confirmed. Gravity = 1.088
Day 4, low to moderate foam on surface. Gravity = 1.084. Primary fermenter still covered by cloth only.

The recipe states to ferment 4 or 5 days until hydrometer reads 1.030 - 1.040 but I am way behind schedule. Was my improvised batch of starter yeast done improper? I'm leaning towards adding a booster shot of Wyeast nutrient but even considering adding another packet of yeast. Better yet, should I do nothing and let it continue slowly but surely?

Thanks for the help!

RecipeFor 6 Gallons Of Mead:
* 15 Pounds of Honey
* 2.5 Tablespoons Wyeast Energizer
* 7 Tablespoons Acid Blend
* 1 Teaspoon Wine Tannin
* 6 Campden Tablets
* Water To Total 6 Gallons
* 1 Pkg. Lalvin ICV-D47 Yeast

brian92fs
01-26-2012, 04:10 PM
In my experiences, that does look slow.

A couple of thoughts:
1) The gravity is still dropping, so that's good. It's not stuck, just slow. I recently had a batch with D47 (http://www.gotmead.com/forum/showthread.php?t=18971) that took 1.5 months to finish