PDA

View Full Version : Racking gone wrong

Stormbringer
03-03-2012, 06:20 PM
Hi. I haven't made mead in a while and decided to make a raspberry mead.(Melomel)

Everything is turning out great.
Until today when I decided to rack the mead off the raspberries.

The cheese cloth on the end of the racking cane just clogged up and the mead wouldn't flow. I had to pour it through a sieve. I was wondering how bad was this to do. It got aerated a bit and I am hoping it will not speed up oxidation before it is ready to drink.

What are the chances that it will come out all right?

Sprigg
03-03-2012, 07:34 PM
I haven't got too much experience, but it should be fine, especially if you plan on drinking it relatively soon.

JohnS
03-03-2012, 08:05 PM
I did the exact same thing with my orange cranberry mel, only I did it twice. g I am a newbie also. First I tried to run it though a racing cane and with no luck, Then I dumped it though a paint strainer, and it got most of the of the fruit out. I plan to rack it again in the next few days and I am hoping for the best. I will let it age out for another 5 months and see how it tastes again (It was started on or about the middle of November). I also used the EC strain of yeast so at first i

JohnS
03-03-2012, 08:10 PM
I did the exact same thing with my orange cranberry mel, only I did it twice. g I am a newbie also. First I tried to run it though a racing cane and with no luck, Then I dumped it though a paint strainer, and it got most of the of the fruit out. I plan to rack it again in the next few days and I am hoping for the best. I will let it age out for another month and store a few bottles away to see if it improves with ad st and see how it tastes again (It was started on or about the middle of November). I also used the EC strain of yeast so at first it was a bit dry.

I think it should be ok if you drink it relatively soon.

Someone told me here to use a large nylon bag in the future and that appears to work a lot better.