• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

Critique my process please

Barrel Char Wood Products

SandorClegane

NewBee
Registered Member
Jun 4, 2012
Hi all,

I'm new here, and I'm also new to brewing. I love Mead, always have, and decided to start with that.

Here's what I did. Please critique and offer tips, corrections, suggestions, and explanations. Thanks.

1. Sanitized everything with restaurant grade sanitizing solution.

2. Pasteurized 2 gallons of equal parts honey and water: brought 1 gallon of honey with 1 gallon of water up to and kept it at about 160-200 degrees Fahrenheit for a good 15 minutes.

2.1. Hydrated my yeast in room temp water while that ^ was happening.

3. Dumped my honey/water mix into my 5 gallon primary fermentation bucket, along with 3 more gallons of cold tap water (we have a water softener/De-chlorinater/purifier).

4. Added some yeast nutrition to the Must.

5. Shook/swirled it up to aerate.

6. Pitched the yeast.

7. Closed and sealed the lid, and stuck in the airlock (with sanitized water).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~