PDA

View Full Version : How long to oak?

Reverend Gaddy
06-30-2012, 07:23 PM
I've got a lovely sack mead brewing in a 5 gallon carboy with about 3 months under it's belt. It's been racked twice now, and fermentation has all but died.

This past racking, I introduced a few ounces of medium toast american oak chips in a muslin bag.

There doesn't seem to be a good consensus as to how long I should keep the mead on the oak. I've heard that two weeks is good, but I've also heard a few months!

Does anyone have any advice for this "NewBee" on the vagaries of Oaking?

hepcat
06-30-2012, 09:40 PM
I'm also not aware of any specific time frame for oaking. I've oaked 4 separate gallon batches all with oak chips for as little as 3 days and as long as 65 days. I just tasted it and when I liked the way it tasted, I racked off of the oak. I've seen those on this board that have oaked for a year or longer. But I'm a noob too, I'm sure some more experienced people will give you their opinions. Good luck.

Robusto
06-30-2012, 10:42 PM
I don't know about chips, but I use oak cubes all the time. I usually let them go for 2 weeks and then taste. I then taste every 3 days or so, although 5-6 weeks is the "normal" time it takes. But that's in my kitchen and for my taste buds, Your milage may vary.... Also, chips will typically impart flavor faster than cubes, so take that into account.

akueck
06-30-2012, 10:44 PM
Oak comes in many forms (chips, cubes/beans, spirals, staves, and barrels of all sizes). What to look for is a surface area to volume ratio, as that will control how fast the oak infuses into the mead. Really big barrels have a very low ratio, and chips a very high ratio.

So when you are using oak chips, exposure time is going to be fairly short: weeks to a couple months. For cubes you need a little longer, sometimes many months to years if you don't add very much. Etc.

Taste it and see is really the best approach for all the oak options.

Wingnut
07-02-2012, 05:54 PM