PDA

View Full Version : New to mead and have a question

Kelvin
07-02-2012, 08:05 PM
First, let me say hello to everyone. I have been reading this forum like crazy for the past few weeks and it's absolutely wonderful. Now, about 14 years or so ago when I was a freshman in college I decided I wanted to brew my own beer. I got a kit and made a hefeweizen. It seemed to turn out well. But I was worried that I might kill myself drinking it so I only drank half a beer and gave rest to my friend. He didn't die so I guess it was ok.

I am now over the whole dying thing and I know that there is very little chance of anything too harmful to grow in my home brews so I am ready to start it again and this time perhaps stick with it as a hobby. I want to start with meads and here is my initial plan.

3 gallons of melomel.
-------------------------
10 lbs. honey
d47 yeast
1 gallon of oceanspray cranberry-raspberry
and water of course to top off to 3 gallons.
(I will be aerating with nutrients the first 3 days)

Here is what I am hoping for and my questions.
First of all, I want it to be a little sweet but I do not want to use any chemicals to stop fermentation so stopping fermentation that way is not what I want. I do not want to back sweeten so brewing to completely dry and back sweetening is not what I want to do. So I went with d47 yeast which is less tolerant then the 1118 I was originally planning to use. I want it to be roughly 15% alcohol with a bit of sweetness. From what I have been reading the d47 might go as high as 16% or so but not much more. (I know it's rated at 14%)

from what I have been calculating this means roughly 1/2 lbs. worth of the honey sugar and all the juice sugar would not be used. Of course I know they will both be used but I mean the sugars as a whole. Of course I am new at this so this is why I am asking you experienced people. But of course the yeast could go up to 16%? and I would have less sugars left but still some.

My questions.