PDA

View Full Version : mead not working (i thinK)

ande1497
07-15-2012, 12:31 PM
okay, like all the other newbees i'm new to Mead and started my first batch and it seems to not be working.

15 lbs of honey
28 pts of water
12 tsp of malic acid
6 tsp of tartaric acid
1 tsp of tannin
3 tsp of energizer
8 campden, crush
fruite wine yeast.

I didn't check the sg when i started. Here is how i did it. put the honey in warm water to dissolve it. Then i added the acid to the mix and mixed it. then i added the tannin, energizer and campden. I waited 24 hours and added the yeast. (first yeast i put in warm water second yeast i put in dry) No bubbles for 36 hours so i then added another packet of yeast (dry). I then went on vacation for 4 days and my wife said she didn't see bubbles. I'm back and just checked the PH its 3.3 and the S.G is 1.11.

What do i need to do to get this thing fired up? or is it working?

Honey is from local farmer. Everything was sanitized and clean when i started.

Whats going on with this stuff?

Thanks

akueck
07-15-2012, 01:32 PM
Welcome to GotMead!

Well, my first thought is "wow that's a lot of acid". Given your pH reading (how did you get this--strips or a meter?), this must is on the bottom end of where most yeast will ferment happily.

I would suggest increasing the pH by adding some potassium bicarbonate. Add a few grams, stir well, and check the pH again. Keep adding more until it's around 3.5-3.8. At that point it's possible that the yeast will wake up and get going, or you might find you need to add more. A good thorough aeration would be a good idea as well.