PDA

View Full Version : Honey Ale / Braggot clarity question

KJUNRebel
08-01-2012, 11:19 AM
Over the past few weeks, I started 3 batches honey ale (or braggot, I guess). I've made some regular mead varieties without malt, and they all cleared up very, very well on their own (except for a cyser that needed some help). This is my first time using beer yeasts and malt. They don't seem to be clearing up as quickly as I expected from my online readings. In fact, no changes to clarity at all since fermentation first started to slow down.

My questions are:
1. Should they clear up on their own given time?
2. Should I even care if they clear before I bottle them?
3. What would be the best clarification agent to use that would still let me bottle condition/carbonate them?

(I seem to get different opinions while researching online that just left me more confused than before I started! It sounds like lots of people bottle before it clears, but some competition rules stated clarity is an issue. I am not interested in competition, but I do want to do what is most commonly considered correct.)

RECIPES BELOW:
#17 - Honey Ale (7/5/12)
1qt honey
3lbs Pale LME
1oz Crystal hops Pellet
Enough water to bring volume to 5.2 US Gallons
WYEAST 1056 smackpack
Boiled honey, LME, and 1/2 oz hops in ~1 US Gallon water for 45 minutes. Added 1/2oz hops and boiled another 6 minutes. Cooled, added additional water, and pitched yeast. Gravity ~1.045. Racked to secondary on 7/23/12 with a gravity of ~1.010. I plan to bottle carbonate.

#22 - Braggot (7/9/12)
4lbs Alexander's Sun Country Pale LME (1 can)
1 can honey (using above emptied can to maintain 50/50 ratio by volume)
Enough water to bring total volume up to 3.8 US Gallons
1 tsp yeast nutrient
1/2 tsp yeast energizer
1 tsp Irish Moss
2/3 oz UK Fuggle Hops pellets
12 oz Tropicana Red Orange juice
SAFALE US-05 yeast