PDA

View Full Version : For The Alchemist, cause you asked.

Penguinetti
08-21-2012, 02:22 PM
So the first time I met my wife, she actually didn't speak to me. She went to her friend's catechism class (which I happened to be in) and she didn't say a word.

The 2nd time I saw her I was a freshman in high school; she was turning into the stairwell. She still didn't really notice me. But I thought it fate to have seen her in two completely unrelated places (and to give you an idea, the school is 1 of 3 that have roughly 2000 kids each).

Then one day, I saw her at lunch, and I sat down and started talking to her. We ended up becoming friends. We would hang out. She ended up dating a buddy of mine briefly. In any case...

I was bad at talking to girls. But I told my best friend that she had to be the one and that he had to help me let her know. So he gave me some tips.

"Remember the details" was the biggest one. I mean, it was easy remembering her details (she listened to the same radio station every night, she loved the song "I can't Help Falling In Love With You" sung by UB-40, she was born in Poland, etc.), but pointing it out as a tip really made sense.

I started by learning her language. I wanted to be able to impress her, so i spent hours trying to pronunciate. She thought it was cute. She was convinced I wouldn't learn because it's such a hard language, but she went along with it. She would write me notes in polish, and I would try to read them and write back.

Finally, during one of our many snow storms in late February, I decided I would attempt to ask her out. But just asking her out wouldn't do. So I set up this plan:

I called the radio station she listened to (actually, the show was 'Delilah' who is still on the radio). I told Delilah to please play UB40's song at 8pm and then to say it was for Monika and to have her go to her front door. Delilah actually told me to call her back. I should do that.