PDA

View Full Version : Getting started, what do I need?

Fortytwo
09-05-2012, 04:45 AM
Heyo!

As you might have guessed, I'm a complete newbee to meadmaking. So I've set my mind to JAOM as a starter. So I'm getting all the stuff together.

Now I'm in luck, I work in a pharmaceutical company at the process development department. So I know bioreactors and I can easily get my hands on some very nice laboratory grade equipment etc. Now, I'm not going to make the mistake of starting with a complicated bioreactor, let's keep it simple here.

But I do have 2 nice food-grade plastic containters of 25L each. They have a big opening at the top and a tap at the bottom for easy draining. The plastic isn't clear, but a you can see the liquid level. They are completely new and gotta go anyways.

As far as I've read, these should do nicely as fermentors. Having two of them means I already have my second fermentor, should I go beyond the JAOM. I do need to stick an airlock on them, but then I'd be ready to go. Or am I missing something? Can I use the bottom tap to drain a fermentor of will it get plugged up way to soon? And is 25L not too much for a batch?

I could also get my hands on some 5L glass bottles or such. But the plastic containers I can get for free, so I'd rather use them.

I'll keep you guys posted to what's going on. :)

Yo momma
09-05-2012, 05:54 AM
Those platsic buckets will do fine. When using those you can use a towel and a bungee cord as your cover so you dont need an airlock. However, IMHO, you will need some glass carboys to see when your mead is clear.

As far as your next step, read the Newbee guide.

You said keep it simple, stay on your first one and get that one correct. Move slow and stay vigilant to make every batch correctly. As your confidence move upwards, expand your habit.....er.....hobby out.

Chevette Girl
09-05-2012, 10:46 AM
Welcome to the forum!