PDA

View Full Version : Virgin

SCviking
09-07-2012, 12:00 AM
I have never brewed anything but I do love mead. I recently purchased two half gallon glass carboys(the largest glass my local brew shop supplies and I don't like the idea of plastic.) And I was planning on using one for a bochet with coffee beans and one for Joe's ancient orange. The yeast I bought is Safale us-05 a dry ale yeast that claims a low to medium final gravity. My main question would be in the bochet would I need to add anything to feed the yeast? And any other advice is also greatly appreciated! Also hello im josh from south Carolina.

youngmeadman
09-07-2012, 12:26 AM
First off WELCOME!

When I started brewing I did not add any nutrients what so ever, and my meads turned out fine. However, they took forever to ferment and even longer to be drinkable. After a hiatus I recently started again, but changed one thing, and that was the use of DAP and nutritional yeast flakes (I cannot find fermaid K or the like here). I have to say the results are amazing. For a pyment with 1.5 kg of grapes (which came off of parents young grape vine) it went from 1.08 to 1.014 in about 4 days! In addition I tasted it during racking, and it doesn't seem as harsh as the non-nutrient fed yeast of the past. We will see how it ends, but I expect a smoother mead already.

I have not done a bochet (next on my list) but from the 4 day results I have thus far (and the wisdom you find floating around here) I would do a staggered nutrient addition (which is the plan for when I do mine).

That goes to say, just do the JOAM as the recipe states and you'll have a fine mead to drink!

Good luck and happy brewing,
Young

Chevette Girl
09-07-2012, 01:07 AM
Hey Josh, welcome to the forum. And if you haven't read the Newbee guide yet, it's highly recommended.