• PATRONS: Did you know we've a chat function for you now? Look to the bottom of the screen, you can chat, set up rooms, talk to each other individually or in groups! Click 'Chat' at the right side of the chat window to open the chat up.
  • Love Gotmead and want to see it grow? Then consider supporting the site and becoming a Patron! If you're logged in, click on your username to the right of the menu to see how as little as $30/year can get you access to the patron areas and the patron Facebook group and to support Gotmead!
  • We now have a Patron-exclusive Facebook group! Patrons my join at The Gotmead Patron Group. You MUST answer the questions, providing your Patron membership, when you request to join so I can verify your Patron membership. If the questions aren't answered, the request will be turned down.

How to Improve (reduce) yeasty taste

Barrel Char Wood Products

Paul S

NewBee
Registered Member
Sep 15, 2012
I am brand new to meadmaking and was gifted 3 gallons of mead from a friend who is moving out of the country. Each gallon has a wonderful flavor, although a bit sweet. There is a gallon of plain, a gallon with raspberries added, and a gallon with orange, cinnamon, and cloves. They were kept in one gallon containers for a full year, and were given to me with the airlocks still on. The one noticeable and unpleasant characteristic is that they have a yeasty taste. As they have never been racked, I understand this is my next step. Can I expect racking to improve on the yeasty taste? And as the taste otherwise is so pleasant, and at a year out they are mature (true?), is there any way I can rack repetedly over the next few weeks to get a finished product that has no yeast aftertaste?

I appreciate the feedback.

wayneb

Lifetime Patron
Lifetime GotMead Patron