PDA

View Full Version : No hydrometer reading at outset: How to know when primary is finished?

davidp80
09-18-2012, 04:30 PM
Greetings all,

This is my first post, and I'm super-happy to be here. Thanks for providing a great resource.

Started my first batch of mead on Sunday evening. 6 gallons of water and 18 pounds of raw, local honey. One packet of D-47 yeast. 6 handfuls of raisins for nutrients.

After pitching the yeast, I remembered the hydrometer. I forgot to take the reading. Fermentation has now begun, and my question is.....how do I know when it's time to move the mead from primary into secondary.

I understand that you can just wait until bubbling has slowed or stopped, but I'd like to be more precise. Can I take a hydrometer reading to know when it's time to make the transfer even if I haven't taken the initial reading?

Thanks guys. Any help is appreciated.

-Dave

columbiacritter
09-18-2012, 04:46 PM
I'm new at this too so I'm interested to see peoples opinions on determining finishing. The one I'm going with is when the hygromter reading stays unchanged for a week.

davidp80
09-18-2012, 06:17 PM
And one more thing.....isn't taking regular hydrometer readings introducing a lot of oxygen to the mead at a time when it would be better left undisturbed? Especially if you're brewing in a 5-gallon plastic bucket, taking off the lid each time to take a reading really leaves the must exposed to the open air.

What do you think?

Thanks, everyone.

-Dave

akueck
09-18-2012, 08:13 PM
Take a SG reading ASAP, at least you'll have a "near the beginning" number to go on.

Air in the beginning of fermentation is a good thing. Generally you'll stop checking so often once you get past the 1/3 to 1/2 point, at which point you don't want to introduce any more air.