View Full Version : Doubts about my first batch

10-07-2012, 01:41 AM

-First of all i would like to mention that i have no prior brewing experience. In March 2012, i delved into the intimidating world of mead making and started a batch of my very own. Here it is 7 months later, and i have two major concerns with my mead.

-My first and most pressing concern is the color: All literature and internet sources i have referred to for my first attempt have mentioned the "clarification" of the mead as being a sign for being ready to bottle. Whenever i first started the batch, the must had an expected golden amber color. However, my batch has yet to clarify and has indeed become much darker than its original state. The following are pictures comparing the color of the mead from month 1 to month 7.

Month 1: http://tinyurl.com/8duz4l7
Month 7: http://tinyurl.com/99tmmmk
**please excuse the use of the image posting website, i could not manage to get the images attached to my post. I apologize.**

I'm not entirely sure how literal to take the term "clarify." I do know, however, know what commercially available mead looks like. I fear the worst for my first batch... Does anyone have any solutions/recommendations to my problem?

-Not only am i familiar with what commercially available mead looks like, but i am also very familiar with the taste :D. At around 5 months and now at 7 months, i have taken a sample to taste. At 5 months, the taste was... meh. It wasn't good and wasn't bad, with a slight bitter taste. Also, it only slightly tasted of mead. Today at 7 months, the taste is quite awful. In fact, i had to brush my teeth to get rid of the taste. With this said, i was not expecting a tasty mead. I was more or less tasting out of curiosity.