PDA

View Full Version : My first Brews

Grumpel
10-10-2012, 05:04 PM
First off this is an excellent resource for being able to read and obtain information about making mead. I was lead here just through a random google search I have a very old mead recipe extremely simple that I was given I made it once and it was ok. I was sick over the weekend and ran across the recipe and thought you know I liked it the first time how about lets do more. So here I am.

Really quick notes about me if there is a level under novice I am it. If there is a level under that I just barely graduated from it. I am a tech guy. If its PC related or electronic I can probably fix it, make it, break it. Married 15 years 4 great kids and a house. This will be drink made for me and my wife, gifts, special occasions ect. That being said my wife mentioned if we could make a few bucks off it whats the harm lol.

So onto what I am looking to do. As a note I have read several threads and gone through the newbie guide. I did not absorb everything but if I miss step at any point feel free to call me on it.

I want to do two types the first a Sparkling if you will Melomel Fruit Sweet this is what I am looking at ingredient wise.

Target ABV 11%
Carbonated
Orange Blossom honey is what I plan on using.
Wyeast 3184 it only eats up to 11% from the list I saw which should result in a sweet mead (I think if I understand that)
Fruit I want to use is Raspberry and Oranges