PDA

View Full Version : Yeast nonstart help needed

blightstrider
10-30-2012, 11:22 PM
Hi everyone, our family has been making wine for a long time but this is my first time on my own making cider and mead. I bought 5 different kinds of honey, 3lbs each. I added water to get up to 1 gallon each and about 1.090-1.095 SG, sulfated them all, then the next day rehydrated one packet of lalvin d47 (recommended by the brewshop guy) and pitched it equally between the 5 1gallon buckets with a tsp of super ferment nutrient/energizer each. Two days later and two of the batches seem to be going well, the third a bit slower, the fourth barely at all, and the fifth seems to be a nonstarter. I took a look inside and there are barely any bubbles or froth in any of them. I guess my question is, what should I expect to see with lalvin d47? I made 10 gallons of cider last week and the lallemand windsor ale yeast I used was almost bubbling over the next day. Also, could my issues be with contents, nutrients, ph, etc of the honey varieties themselves? Here are the varieties from most to least active:

Clover
Tulip poplar
Blackberry
Basswood
Autumn olive

Anyway, any advice is greatly appreciated!

blightstrider
10-31-2012, 12:43 AM
UPDATE: I read in another post that visible signs of fermentation are misleading, so I took some gravity measurements. Here are the original, current, and difference. Are these typical or should I be worried?

Tulip poplar - 1.091 - 1.067 - .024
Clover - 1.095 - 1.080 - .015
Basswood - 1.095 - 1.080 - .015
Blackberry - 1.090 - 1.076 - .014
Autumn olive - 1.091 - 1.082 - .009

fatbloke
10-31-2012, 01:17 AM
If you look at the numbers, they're all dropping. Which suggests that they're all fermenting.

Hence I'd have thought its more of an issue with bucket seals, rather than with ferment problems.