PDA

View Full Version : Make my blueberry mead better

RIC0
11-02-2012, 11:30 AM
First post and yes I"m a MEAD newbie.

I brew beer but have never made MEAD. That's about to change.

I will be doing a 1 gallon batch in a glass gallon jug.

I Will be using good honey, not junk, 3lbs should be good from what I've read.

I want to add a hint of blueberry flavor but not sure how much and when.

Please offer advice and thank you for your input.

Chevette Girl
11-02-2012, 12:15 PM
Hey, RIC0. Welcome to the forum!

Had you thought about your yeast yet?

RIC0
11-02-2012, 01:01 PM
I have not to be honest I was going to stop by the local brewery supply house and have them hook me up with what they would suggest.

I'll be more than happy to look for what you suggest...;D

Busymust
11-02-2012, 01:24 PM
I am by no means an expert, but here is my experience:

I used the contents of one pint of fresh blueberries, washed and rinsed thoroughly, pureed, and then placed in the bottom of a 1 gallon carboy.
I added a plain sack mead must to fill much of the rest of the carboy. The must was just honey, spring water, orange zest, bee pollen, black tea, and yeast (Lalvin K1V-1116) which was in its secondary fermentation and whose SpG had fallen to about 1.004. The must became dark violet and its fermentation rate picked up a bit as the yeast (and no doubt a wild yeast or two) started eating the blueberries. The final result was rather dry, (1.001) a bit like a red wine, and did have a distinct taste of blueberries. The tannins in the berries caused it to clear very swiftly without needing any clarifiers.

If you wanted just a hint of blueberries I would suggest a smaller quantity and to cook them down just a bit to kill off the wild yeasts. Just watch the temperature carefully as the aromatics and flavors will break down easily.

Khan
11-02-2012, 01:35 PM