Scarab1
12-09-2012, 01:48 PM
Please be gentle. Complete newbie.
DATA:
48 oz Cherry Pom Concentrate
3 lb Cali Orange Bloss Hny
48 oz Spring water
5g EC-1118 (LAL)
--All liquids were heated and mixed..never brought to boil. I do not know exact temp do not have thermometer--

Would guesstimate 90 F and got a measurement off the charts and would guess by visual to be 1.176.

What am I to expect?
Is there any adjustments I should make before it goes too far?

Thanks
Steve

YogiBearMead726
12-09-2012, 03:16 PM
Did you by chance take a gravity reading of the concentrate and water mixture before adding honey? From the looks of the recipe, you've only got 96oz of liquid other than honey in there, and I'm assuming the concentrate had a decent SG.

I would bump up the volume with some more water to bring it somewhere in the 1.110-1.120 range. That should be a much easier must for the yeast to ferment in.

Scarab1
12-09-2012, 03:45 PM
Thank you for the quick response. If i left it as is what would be the approx outcome with no contamination? Looking to go a month before rack.

No,i did not get a reading with water and concentrate only.

kudapucat
12-09-2012, 05:43 PM
What you have is a 'high gravity must'
Whilst its possible to ferment it and have some residual sweetness with EC-1118, one of two things will happen
A. Very high alcohol content
B. Stalled out ferment.

Yeast will have trouble getting started under all that pressure.
The yeast may throw nasty flavours.
If it stalls out early, you'll have an over sweet brew.
If it ferments out, you'll have a high alcohol, hot brew, that will take years to mellow out.

There are techniques for brewing something this heavy, but 'chuck it all in and wait' is not one of them.
Suggest you water it down to 1.130 at least, then back sweeten after ferment.

Scarab1
12-09-2012, 05:53 PM
Thank you for the additional info. Will attempt to add water to get it there now.

Edit - Added 40oz water and now at 1.140 still way too high?

fatbloke