PDA

View Full Version : My first attempt :p

Darren
12-09-2012, 03:12 PM
Hey all,

My first attempt at making mead started on Friday evening and i have already made some fatal mistakes, but im hoping my first batch survives.

My first mistake was adding the yeast to a hot mix. My second mistake was adding too little nutrient and energizer. I have now added more and it seems to be bubbling away nicely.

This is my first attempt.

My SG read at 1060 is this about right?

Virgin Mead

Made 9pm 07/12/12

2kg Rowse Clear Honey

4Ltr Water

Satsuma with pith removed

2 broken Cloves

Half a Cinamon Stick

Pinch All Spice

5g Sachet Wineworld Wine yeast HIGH ALCOHOL

1.5g Tronozymol Yeast Nutrient and Energiser.. Wineworks

Directions:-

Bring water to just under boil in Stainless pot, then add spices and satsuma.
Mix in Honey and stir for 20 mins whilst taking the white scum off top.
If scum is yellow the temperature is too high.. turn down.

Let cool.

Half a cup of water with Yeast and Nutrient, add dollop of honey and heat gently whilst mixing.

When Must is cool ad Yeast mixture and rack into Carboy with Airlock ( without spices or satsuma ).

24hours later Bubbling starts.. every 5 secs.

Bubbling stopped next day, so added rest of nutrient / energizer and gave little shake and it started bubbling again. Is this right?

Darren
12-09-2012, 06:02 PM
I have a newbee question for you guys..

Its now 48hrs since i made my batch should i be stirring it?

ty:D

Vance G
12-09-2012, 06:10 PM
Areation is good for the growing yeast population. If the stirring is to encorporate Oxygen, yes you should stir it. I play with it and whip it up every time I walk by for the first days of the fermentation.

Darren
12-09-2012, 06:13 PM
Areation is good for the growing yeast population. If the stirring is to encorporate Oxygen, yes you should stir it. I play with it and whip it up every time I walk by for the first days of the fermentation.