PDA

View Full Version : small "beholder" on surface film?

mcdougal
12-11-2012, 12:11 PM
Ok first off, this is a five gallon traditional;

13 lbs clover honey
4 gallons of water
Lavlin D47
Orange slices (primary fermentation only)

Primary in bucket for 3 weeks
>Racked to carboy
>after 30 days Racked to carboy
>after 30 days Racked to carboy again

Strict sanitation methods used each time with no aeration on third and fourth racking. Mead has formed a thin "skin" on surface and a small eyeball looking sphere has appeared on the surface as well... i cannot find any reference to this anywhere, it literally looks like an eyeball.. smell of mead is fine..

I realize the picture is a bit poor. Any thoughts from your vast wisdom?
http://i1190.photobucket.com/albums/z457/imcdougal/IMG_0482.jpg

Also, solutions if you know what the issue is?

The Meadster
12-11-2012, 02:10 PM
I'm pretty new to this so I could be completely wrong (and please correct me if I am) but from what I've seen once you hit the 1/3-1/2 sugar break you should not be aerating anymore. For sure not once primary fermentation is done. Normally this is to prevent oxidation, but I'm guessing it's possible that some airborne bacteria got mixed in. What the likelihood of that is (assuming that it is actually possible) I have no idea.

mcdougal
12-11-2012, 02:27 PM
I'm pretty new to this so I could be completely wrong (and please correct me if I am) but from what I've seen once you hit the 1/3-1/2 sugar break you should not be aerating anymore. For sure not once primary fermentation is done. Normally this is to prevent oxidation, but I'm guessing it's possible that some airborne bacteria got mixed in. What the likelihood of that is (assuming that it is actually possible) I have no idea.