PDA

View Full Version : how long bottle conditioning for still mead?

otherchuck
12-22-2012, 03:26 PM
Greetings all,

I am making my first batch of mead, and it has been in the secondary fermenter for at least three months...no remote signs of fermentation activity for ages (and a hydrometer check indicated what I believe to be a complete ferment).

I want to put it in bottles now, and...since I am new to this...I am planning to try some flavoring strategies at the bottling phase (to see what I get and to see what I like). For instance, some bottles will be just regular 'unflavored' still mead, but I will probably add a ginger tea to some other bottles. Also, maybe some bottles will get some peach extract or something like that if I can find it in the spice section of my supermarket.

In any case, I am PLANNING for my meads to be mostly uncarbonated. If I use honey-sweetened ginger tea, then I know I can expect some bottle carbonation (and I will be careful not to overdue it, for fear of exploding bottles).

If it is a flavored or unflavored still mead (not carbonated), how long should it ideally stay in the bottle before drinking? I am not even sure that it isn't perfectly drinkable right now, but I am sure some amount of bottle conditioning is universally recommended. If I do any carbonated bottles, how long should those stay in the bottle before drinking?

Thanks!

Otherchuck

Golddiggie
12-22-2012, 03:57 PM
What strength is it? What did you use in it? Just because it's done fermenting doesn't mean it's ready to go to bottle. If it's only 3-4 months from mixing, give it several more months to clear before you think about bottling.

I have batches made in 2010 (November of that year) that are really starting to become great. They were good after a year, but now... ;D