PDA

View Full Version : Newbie with a pair of jugs......

ceekay
01-06-2013, 01:03 AM
So I got a wild hair up my exhaust pipe and decided to make some mead a while back. I found what's supposed to be an easy low-volume (1gal) recipe, and tried to follow it to the best of my newbie ability......

12/21/12, I conceived a batch following a recipe calling for:
1gal water
3lbs honey
25 raisins (for yeast food, apparently)
1 orange, sliced)
1 packet Fleischmann's yeast

Since I am a newbie, I inadvertently modified the recipe....
1gal water (went with distilled, no idea why)
72 fl. oz. of honey because I figured a 24oz bottle was about a pound and put three in......... I later learned that 32oz is about 3lbs....
27 raisins (honest mistake, since I didn't double-check the recipe and just tossed two extra raisins in, but it's two whole raisins, shouldn't make -too- much of a difference)
0 orange, because I wanted the straight honey wine taste and not an orange/honey wine taste.
1 packet Fleischmann's Highly Active yeast

I figure that since it was conceived on the last end of the world, that I should save it for the real end of the world, and that's why I brewed an identical batch the next day. So my very first batch will be wax sealed and saved.... Let's just hope the real end of the world is more than 10 months away...............

- CK

kudapucat
01-06-2013, 07:03 AM
I can suggest two things to help you.
Unfortunately both include reading a chunk to digest.
First. The newbees guide, found on the left pane (I think - its hidden on the phone app I use)
Second. Find the JAO thread. It's miles long, but worth the read. It is all about the recipe you started with (not so much what you finished with)
Good luck, and get brewing!

Oh, and brew a JAO exactly to the recipe. I fear yours may take longer to age than 10 months.

kudapucat
01-06-2013, 07:04 AM
Ahh here's the JAO thread
http://www.gotmead.com/forum/showthread.php?t=6885

kudapucat
01-06-2013, 07:07 AM