PDA

View Full Version : First time mead maker -- little yeast activity

joec
01-14-2013, 12:31 PM
Hello all,

I started brewing beer and making wine in the past year, and decided to give mead a try. I followed this recipe (http://byo.com/stories/recipeindex/article/recipes/107-mead/2325-basic-sweet-mead-), but with two changes -- One, to get a sweeter mead (as per the local brew store's resident expert), I changed the recommended yeast to a Montrachet yeast. And two, I made a five gallon batch instead of a one gallon, so I scaled the recipe as needed for that amount.

My issue is that I'm not seeing much activity going on in my fermenter, and the room temperature has been between 67-72 degrees. I don't have a must temp currently, as it's a new fermenter and I've forgotten to put a thermometer on the fermenter. I've also been pout of town, but the Mrs says there's barely been any activity. There's bubbles trapped in the airlock, but nothing is moving.

I'll update later tonight with more details, but can anyone make any suggestions? Should I add more yeast? Should I try and warm the must? Should I just add the yeast from the recipe?

Help!

Medsen Fey
01-14-2013, 02:09 PM
Hi Joe,
If you scaled up an used 25 tsp of acid blend, the pH is probably too low. Can you check it?

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

joec
01-14-2013, 03:07 PM
I just picked up some test strips. I'll check tonight and report back my findings.

joec
01-14-2013, 07:36 PM
I tested via test strip and the ph is around 2.9-3.0, gauging by color.

Medsen Fey
01-14-2013, 08:54 PM