PDA

View Full Version : co2 into carboy?



laflaone
01-20-2013, 08:56 PM
When racking, how do you introduce co2 into the empty carboy?

fatbloke
01-21-2013, 01:19 AM
You don't - generally....

I presume you're alluding to protecting a mead with excessive air space with a blanket of CO2 ?

If you searched youtube you can find some clips that put a flame out by "pouring" CO2 on to it.

So the principle is the same, that its heavier than air and it depends whether you'd want to get some into a carboy first the siphon into it displacing some or most as the liquid level rises or adding it afterward.
How you get it in there would depend on your source.

akueck
01-21-2013, 06:51 PM
I shoot CO2 from a tank into the carboy. The idea is to get all the air out and replace it with CO2. You can get a little trigger-pull attachment that can do this sort of thing.

skunkboy
01-21-2013, 11:47 PM
I do, but not I'm not sure how much it helps, I just figure CO2 is sorta cheap compared to everything else I'm using... :)

laflaone
01-22-2013, 11:00 AM
Thanks for your replys. I still can't get the picture in my head of how to go about putting the co2 in. So do I go to home depot and ask for a tank of co2? go to a welders supply? and where do I get the "trigger thing"?

akueck
01-22-2013, 06:14 PM
I got the trigger thing at the homebrew shop. You might find it at Home Depot et al, it's similar to the trigger thing at the end of air lines in machine shops (for blowing dust off stuff, etc). Just clamp it on the end of some hose, clamp the other end to the regulator, and away you go!